Home > Uncategorized > I, for one, welcome our new physics overlords.

I, for one, welcome our new physics overlords.

Welcome to physics.  Let me say a couple of quick notes.

What will you find here?

The main idea of this course page is to offer you some resources.  In particular, I will post video examples to help you understand the concepts in physics as well links to blog posts that I have written that you might find useful.  It will probably help if you “subscribe” to this as a blog.  That way you will know when things change.

For the most part, I won’t use Blackboard.

Who am I?

No.  I am not Thor, but wouldn’t that be cool?  Alas, I am just a regular person.  Just like you.  Oh, I think physics is awesome. You might think I am some super master of physics, and you might be right.  But I haven’t always been this way.  In order to really understand something, it takes work.  It just so happens that I have spent a lot of time studying physics.  I still make mistakes though.

What else is there to know?  Oh, I have a blog on Wired.com.  My blog is Dot Physics.  Essentially, I use this blog as an outlet to express my feelings toward physics.

How about just a couple more details?  Students love details.  I grew up outside Chicago in Naperville, Illinois.  My Ph.D. is from North Carolina State University and I have 4 kids.

I almost forgot.  I have an ebook about physics.  It was mostly written for the algebra-based level of physics, but you still might find it useful.  I will post a link to this book in Blackboard so you can download it for free if you like.

Some tips:

The biggest mistake I see students make is procrastination.  Don’t do this.  Don’t fall behind.  Physics is tough, if you get behind you will never catch up.  Trust me on this one.  Or don’t trust me.

A while ago, at the end of the semester, I let students write down some advice for you.  Yes, you.  After completing the course, they had the opportunity to give advice.  If they wanted to include their name, they could.  Anyway, here it is.

Student Advice to Future Students

VPython

One of the things I like to emphasize in physics is numerical calculations.  In short, this is a method for using a computer to solve problems that could not easily (or maybe not even at all) solved on paper.  The textbook promotes VPython for these calculations.  VPython is free and runs on Windows and Mac OS X.  More details on vpython can be found:

Blog

I already mentioned my blog.  But let me say a couple of things.  First, if you are interested, I always welcome student posts.  This doesn’t mean I will post anything you write, but if it is good it will go up.  The best way for you to do this would be to just start your own blog (you can do something free).

Second.  I can’t remember the second thing.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

